Automated App Reports

Summary:

This project is to generate automated self-written reports for my phone usage. You can see the R code on my GitHub page.

How it works:

  1. Data collection:
    All of the data is collected on my phone using a script created on Tasker. This script logs the time I spend on any app, then uploads it to Google Sheets.

  2. The report:
    The report is designed and generated in R as an HTML file. It pulls the data from Google Sheets, cleans the data, and then generates a report using it.

  3. Sending:
    Every month Tasker runs a script from my phone to turn on my PC, then sends a message to the EventGhost (Windows automation program). EventGhost then runs a shell command to run the create_report.R script. The report is then generated and emailed using R.

Example report:


Monthly app report

July 27, 2018

Top 10 apps have changed see: Hyperion, Keep


Note: Some of the lines don’t represent apps. Many of them are names of books, which I intentionally included.